Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Halal & Haram food in Islam !!!

  1. #1
    Member Array carefree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Country: Canada
    Rep Power

    Halal & Haram food in Islam !!!

    Halal & Haram food in Islam

    What is Halal ?
    The following products are definitely Halal:
    1. Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats)
    2. Honey
    3. Fish
    4. Plants which are not intoxicant
    5. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables
    6. Fresh or dried fruits
    7. Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, etc.
    8. Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc.
    Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim. The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 3 main blood vessels are cut. While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it), the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah, such as “Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar”.
    What is Haraam?
    1. Meat from swine – pork, ham, gammon, bacon, etc
    2. Pork-based products and by-products – sausages, gelatine etc
    3. Animals improperly slaughtered, or already dead before slaughtering is due to take place
    4. Animals killed in the name of anyone other than Allah.
    5. Intoxicants

    6. Most carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals without external ears (i.e., snakes, reptiles, worms, insects etc.)
    7. Blood and blood by-products
    8. Foods contaminated with any of the above products
    While many things are clearly halal or clearly haraam, there are some things which are not clear. These items are considered questionable or suspect and more information is needed to categorise them as halal or haraam. Such items are often referred to as Mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable. Food falling into this category should be treated as haraam until you know otherwise.

    1. {foods which are forbidden}: The Holy Qur’an, 5:3 – Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah; that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it (in due form); that which is sacrificed on stone (altars)…
    2. {prohibition of intoxicants): The Holy Qur’an, 5:90 – O ye who believe! Intoxicants and gambling, (dedication of) stones, and (divination by) arrows, are an abomination,- of Satan’s handwork: eschew such (abomination), that ye may prosper.
    3. (permissibility of seafood): The Holy Qur’an, 35:12 – Nor are the two bodies of flowing water alike,- the one palatable, sweet, and pleasant to drink, and the other, salt and bitter. Yet from each (kind of water) do ye eat flesh fresh and tender, and ye extract ornaments to wear; and thou seest the ships therein that plough the waves, that ye may seek (thus) of the Bounty of Allah that ye may be grateful.

    It should be noted that the Qur’an specifies all intoxicants (not just alcohol) as being haraam. An intoxicant is, by definition, a substance eaten, drunk or smoked with the sole intention of becoming intoxicated, or a substance created with that purpose in mind. This basically means alcoholic drinks and narcotic drugs.
    Any food which was made with an alcoholic drink (usually wine) is haraam because, although the food itself probably couldn’t get you drunk, it’s alcoholic ingredient was made for that purpose. In most cases this is obvious – for instance Coq au Vin (chicken in wine) or Beef and Ale Pie. In contrast, some seemingly innocent foods can be made using alcoholic drinks and are therefore haraam – examples are mince pies and teriyaki sauce. Always check the ingredients label!
    In contrast, alcohol can be found in some halal foods, such as bread and soy sauce. These sometimes contain minute amounts of alcohol as a result of a natural reaction between certain chemicals during the manufacturing process (as opposed to alcoholic drinks being deliberately added to food to add flavour), and so couldn’t be classed as haraam.
    Some medicines and mouthwashes contain alcohol – if you can find an non-alcoholic alternative then use that instead. Medicines containing alcohol would be considered halal if there were no suitable alternatives available. It should be noted that only ethyl alcohol (such as methylated spirits and ethanol, the alcohol found in alcoholic drinks) are intoxicating and are therefore haraam. Other forms of alcohol (such as stearyl) are not intoxicating. These types of alcohol won’t be found in any food or drink due to the fact that they are generally poisonous, but it is a point worth bearing in mind when buying household goods containing these.
    Pork By-Products:
    This includes ingredients such as gelatine, emulsifiers, fat and enzymes. All of these are haraam. They also have alternatives that are either halal or vegetarian that can just as easily be used in their place. Items that can contain these pork-based ingredients include:
    Jelly / Jell-O desserts
    Jelly / Gum sweets
    A note for Muslims in Britain – some fish and chip shops cook their food in lard (pork fat) in the traditional way, especially Harry Ramsden’s. As far as I know, most chip shops use vegetable oil, probably because it’s cheaper. If you enjoy a good fish and chip dinner like me, you may as well cook it yourself.
    Some medicines and supplements (especially Cod Liver Oil) also use gelatine as part of their capsules. It can be permissible to use these, but ONLY if there are no suitable alternatives.
    The Qur’an states that everything from the sea is halal, including carnivores such as sharks. You’ll see that the list I wrote above says MOST carnivorous animals are haraam. Marine predators seem to be the exception to this rule.
    I have also seen some sources stating that prawns, crabs and other crustaceans are haraam based on other verses of the Qur’an which mentions that seawater is bitter. This is not true as the above verse states that all food from the sea is halal.
    Some cheeses, including popular types such as Cheddar, are made with an ingredient called ‘rennet’. Traditionally, this is obtained from the cow’s stomach which, if the cow was not slaughtered according the Islamic rites, would render it haraam. Many cheeses nowadays are made using vegetable rennet, so always choose these if possible.

  2. #2
    Member Array carefree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Country: Canada
    Rep Power
    [QUOTE=journalistabid;641365]dear you said that every thing from sea food is Halal what about prawns as I know many of us believe that prawns are not halal in Islam? plz refer with some references[/QUOT

    I have heard that prawns are makrooh. Is this true?
    According to the reaserch of the Shafi’ee, Maliki, and hanbali school of thought, they are halal because these three imams say that all sea animals are halal.
    However, within the hanafi school of fiqh there are two opinions regarding prawns. Imam Abu Hanifah rahmatullahi alayhi says that among the creatures that live in water, only fish is halal. This is due to the Hadeeth which uses the word سمك samak ie. Fish.
    Now there is a debate within the Hanafi school as to whether prawns can be classed as fish or not.
    According to many linguistic specialists prawns are a type of fish, as stated in the ‘Qamoos’ and ‘Taajul Uroos’.
    Also, Allama Dameeri has written in his book ‘Hayyatul Hayawaan’
    الروبيان هو سمك صغير جدا أحمر
    Translation: “Prawns are very small red fish”
    On this basis, many of the Hanafi Scholars have said prawns are halal.
    However the modern day animal classification experts do not count prawns as a type of fish. They say the definition of fish is:
    هو حيوان ذو عمود فقري يعيش في الماء و يسبح بعواماته و يتنفس بغلصمته
    Translation: A fish is that creature which has a backbone, lives in water, swims with its fins and breathes through its gills.
    Prawns do not come under the category of fish, because they do not have a backbone nor do they breathe through gills. So they fall under the category of insects, and would not be allowed.
    Since many Ulama still regard prawns as a fish and eating them is common amongst them so eating prawns cannot be classed as haram.
    However, due to the conflicting evidence, they could be classed as Makrooh. It would be better to avoid them. But, if someone does eat them, we shouldn’t say anything to them. Allah knows best.
    ( from Fiqhi Maqaalat- Mufti Taqi Saheb pg. 217 vol.3)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. If In Dout About Halal Od Haraam........
    By carefree in forum Religion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2014, 05:59 PM
  2. halal and haram
    By Rafia Wasif in forum Religion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2013, 12:55 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-20-2013, 02:29 AM
  4. urdu - Riz'aq Halal
    By Tahir Bati in forum Religion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2013, 12:06 PM
  5. Smoking is Haram in Islam FATWA RELEASED
    By sadia in forum Audio Video
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 02:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts